The Prayer Playlist

When I was younger, I remember sitting in Sunday School and seeing a diagram of a hamburger. The diagram showed  different parts of the hamburger and each of them represented different parts of prayer. Last week, I decided to make a prayer playlist. As a young adult sometimes I find it difficult to express what I want to say to the one who created all things. I made this playlist based off of my daily prayer and had chosen songs that I felt expressed what I wanted to pray about and gave me words to say. Throughout this passage, I will discuss the songs I picked and I also added songs that could fit into each topic as well.

 

  1. Praise/Thankfulness – “There is None Like You”- Shane and Shane

There are a couple of Shane and Shane songs on this list. The psalmist wrote for us to enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. Sometimes we can forget to praise God for what he has done when we pray, and we just command him to do what we want him to do.  How can you put into words to describe our thanks towards the giver of all life for what he has done? That why I picked this song. As the Shanes sing, I’m reminded of the ways to thank God and give him praise for my family, education, life guidance, etc.

Other songs for this category include:

  • “Good Good Father”- Chris Tomlin
  • “Great Are You Lord” – All Sons and Daughters
  • “Beautiful Lord”- Leeland

2. Repentance “Psalm 51 (Wisdom in the Secret Heart)” – Shane and Shane

My first concert I went to was to see Shane and Shane. I have always been impressed with their music because they translate the beautiful words of David into song. I believe it is important that before we ask God to satisfy our needs that we should repent. The scripture says If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land. In my opinion, nobody knew how to repent more than David. Even though David messed up, he recognized that he wasn’t perfect and ask God for forgiveness. In another psalm he prayed, “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” When we repent, not only should we be sorry for what we  have done, but we should ask for wisdom from God to on how handle it in the future. Psalm 51 is perfect because David confesses that he is not perfect, but he also asks wisdom from God.

Other songs for this category include:

  • “Give us Clean Hands” – Chris Tomlin
  • “Clean”- Natalie Grant
  • “Jesus, Friend of Sinners”- Casting Crowns

3. Prayer for others – “Ask” – Anthony Evans

After repentance, we go into asking God to favor the needs of others. It is important that we pray for other people in our life. It shows God that we put ourselves last and that we have a heart for our friends, family, and churches. As Anthony sings the first verses of this song, we are reminded of God’s promise of ask and you shall receive and knock, and the door will be open. In the bridge of this song, Anthony asks for our healing, salvation, breakthrough, the nations, and for God’s presence and power to have his way in those needs. This song helps us ask God to touch the needs of our family and friends, anoint the leadership of our nation, state, and city, and to bring revival to our churches.

Other songs for this category include:

  • “Hear Us from Heaven”- Jared Anderson
  • “Kingdom Come” – Covenant Worship
  • “Ask”- B.J. Putnam

4. Your Needs/ Direction – “Oceans” – Hillsong

Stressed and tired because he knew what was about to take place, Jesus prayed “Not my will, but yours be done.” before he was captured and crucified. We all need to pray for guidance and direction. The Proverb tells us to in all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. It is critical that we consult with God before we make a life decision. Whether it may be about a job, ministry, or how to handle a life situation. That why I picked “Oceans” for this part of the prayer. As it is written in James, “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.”

Other songs for this category include:

  • “Thy Will” – Hillary Scott & The Scott Family
  • “Lead Me”- Sanctus Real
  • “I Give Myself Away”- William McDowell

5.Praise again- “Glory is Yours” – Elevation Worship

After we ask God to provide for our needs and the needs of others, we should praise him. In this part of prayer, I am reminded of the Israelites as they took over Jericho. As they were led by Joshua, the Israelites shouted and gave praise to God as if the walls have already fallen. It’s good to end your prayer on a high note and to be reminded that God has already won the battle and answered your need.

Other songs for this category include:

  • “Already Done” – Israel and New Breed
  • “Risen”- Covenant Worship
  • “Lion and the Lamb”- Bethel Music & Leeland

I hope that the songs I picked will help you in your devotion with God and that you will continue to grow in your relationship with him.

Like what you have read? Check out some more posts.

The Lazarus Situation

When You Can’t Find The Words

The Importance of the Name

Follow us on Twitter: @UpliftingGrowth

One thought on “The Prayer Playlist

Leave a Reply

