Student Ministry as a Student 101

 

The season of Summer is my favorite time of the year. During that period, there are youth camps, state-wide camp meetings, and national youth conventions. It is also that time where young adults feel the call of God refreshed in their lives. I have attended those events where God’s presence moved into my life and others. I have seen friends get excited about their new callings and tell me “Jon; I felt God calling me to be a missionary!” As I hear what God is doing in my colleague’s life, I rejoice with them. A few weeks passed, and the atmosphere of camp is no longer. We are back into the routine of studying, homework, and tests. Yep, we’re back at school.

It easy as a young adult to become discouraged during this time. We know what God has called us to do, but it’s not happening. We hear stories of people traveling around the world and reaching souls for God’s glory. As we hear the news, we look back at ourselves and think, “What can I do? I know that God has called me to (insert your calling here), but I’m sitting at a desk for seven hours a day.” Good news, you can do something to glorify God as a student. I’ve been through, elementary, jr. high, high school and now I’m in my third year of college. Education and my walk with God are two of the many values I carry. Throughout my years, I have learned a few ways to use my time as a student to minister to others and I would like to share those with you.

1. Get involved.

School clubs were one of my favorite things to do. They are not just résumé builders and excuses to get out of class, but they are great ways to meet people. By being involved, you are already opening the door for God’s glory to be shown towards others. You also have opportunities to minister and craft your talent that God has given you. For example, I know that Beta Club has district meetings and talent competitions and if you have the ability to leading worship or connect with new people, You can use that gifting at that event. You can also start a club like a P7 club or if you are in college, a CMI chapter. These two clubs are easy to start and are great resources to minister to your classmates.

2. Work hard.

You guessed it. This tip is about studying and doing your homework. I know that school work can be a drag, but it will pay off in the long run. Not only will your G.P.A increase, but your influence as well. Other students will take notice of your effort and that will lead to a gateway for God to use you. Your classmates will be coming up to you and asking you for help. As you teach them how to do that math problem that they had difficulty with, they will know that you will assist them again. Your act of kindness provides a gateway for a new friendship to form and for God to move into their lives.

3. Be consistent in your walk with God.

Our personal walks with God are important. Throughout your education experience, your going to have time when you feel fatigued. Sometimes you are going to fail a test, forget to finish a project, or just have too much homework on your plate. The stress can affect your attitude, and thus affecting the attitudes of others. By praying, having a fast day, and being involved in the church body, God will give you the strength to go on. When your teacher assigns that 10-page research paper that is due next week, you will stand out above the exhaustion of your classmates. By having a positive attitude, your classmates will take notice and they will look to you for advice.

4. Love your classmates.

Jesus said in John 15:12 to love each other as he has loved us. We all have that one classmate. The one that nobody talks to, who sits alone at lunch, and has trouble connecting with people. We don’t know what he or she is going through at home, but we do know that we can love them as Jesus would. So invite them to sit with you at lunch or ask them to hang out with your friends at the football game Friday night. This small step that you have taken might have made a significant impact on him. Throughout time, your invites will lead to the opportunity of inviting them to church and for God to have his way in their life.

I hope that these tips I have given you today will help you continue in your ministry. I pray that you will continue in God’s calling as you grow in knowledge. As Paul wrote in his letter to the church in Colossians, “Whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.”

(Photo Cred:http://www.savedbythebellreviewed.com/2015/01/02/saved-by-the-bell-season-3-episode-17-s-a-t-s/)

Like what you have read? Check out some more posts:

Campus Ministry and Church Involvement

When the Doors Do Not Open

What Fruits are We Selling?

Follow us on Twitter: @UpliftingGrowth

Leave a Reply

