The Day of Pentecost: Is the promise still alive?

Welcome to Jerusalem! You made it to an upper room with the other 119 individuals. The disciples began to tell you about their last moments with Jesus where he stated “For John baptized with water; but ye shall be baptized with the Holy Ghost not many days hence. But Ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me. (Acts 1: 5 & 8)” The disciples tell you that Jesus told them to wait for this promise in Jerusalem, so you join in with the others in prayer and supplication (Acts 1:4 & 14).

During your time in prayer, Mathias and Joseph were appointed to replace Judas. After their confirmation, you continue to pray with the others, and then the wind starts to pick up. The presence of God comes in the room like a hurricane, but you still keep going. As you keep telling God your needs and praising him, your tongue starts to take on a language that you do not know. You think to yourself, “How can this be?” You realize that you are not the only one that is experiencing this moment.

You look around and see people worshiping God in various languages and others mocking them. Peter then stands up and says “We are not drunk! Was is happening right now is from the words of the prophet Joel. The prophecy stated, and it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions: And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit. (Joel 2:28-29, Acts 2: 15-18).” As he preaches, he tells the congregation that if they repented, and were baptized in the name of Jesus for the remission of sins, that they shall receive the Holy Ghost and that this promise is unto you, your children, and even as many as the Lord our God shall call (Acts 2:38-39). It has been years since the initial outpouring of God’s spirit, but the promise still stands.

September 18th, 2005 was a monumental day for me. I was sitting in my home church during a Sunday morning service. We had a guest evangelist that morning, and he preached on “The Holy Ghost and Fire.” His message gripped me at my heart and increased my faith. At the conclusion of his sermon, he made the altars open to anyone who wanted to receive the promise that was outlined in the book of Acts. I decided to act out on my faith by walking down the stairs from the balcony, and I placed myself in front of the left side of the platform.

I lifted up my hands and began to decrease so that my God could increase in me. By raising my hands, I surrendered to him. I repented of every sin that I committed by telling him, that I was sorry for anything that was displeasing to him. I became fully open so that his perfect will could happen in my life. I then began to praise him because I knew my sins were forgiven, and then it happened.

I began to lose control of my speech. My praises in English were now being taken over by God. I did not fight it. Instead, I let it happen, and I began to speak in another language. I did not know what I was saying, but it was enough for me to know that the promise that was stated in Acts, had happened in my life. I have prayed for this to happen, and there was no greater feeling than the peace I felt from having his presence within me.

The promise that was given on the Day of Pentecost has never been broken. It is still being fulfilled today. The same power that was given to the people in the upper room is available to you. You do not have to beg Jesus to give you his spirit, all he wants is for you to become open to his perfect will. You start by asking him to forgive you for your sins and then give him praise for the new life that he will give you. After those steps, let him do the rest because he has never broken his promise.

LIKE WHAT YOU HAVE READ? CHECK OUT SOME MORE POSTS:

Why Youth Camp?

The Promises That Never Fade

This Is Your Fight! 

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER: @UPLIFTINGGROWTH

Leave a Reply

